Saturday 30th September v. Dungannon Swifts (away) - Sports Direct Premiership - k.o: 3:00pm

Cliftonville Match Report
Uploaded Tuesday, 6th Sep, 2022 at 21:35

Date: Tuesday, 6th September, 2022; Competition: Toals Co Antrim Shield - Round 1; Attendance: N/A;
Newington [0] [1]
Ballymena United [1] [2]
Venue: Solitude; Kick-Off: 19:45;
Referee: Jamie Robinson; Assistant 1: Stephen Donaldson; Assistant 2: Shane Geary;
[0-1] McDAID, David (45 mins), [1-1] McNICHOLL, Tiarnan (59 mins), [1-2] KANE, Kenneth (82 mins)

BALLYMENA United secured a berth in the second round of the Toals Co Antrim Shield with a 2-1 win over Newington at Solitude on Tuesday night.
Despite numerous chances in the first half, most stopped by Newington keeper Gerard Walker, United finally got the opening goal on 45 minutes when a Joshua Kelly strike hit the post, David Parkhouse following up with a shot that deflected off David McDaid and found the back of the net to open his account for the season.
The Sky Blues were able to create a few opportunities in the early part of the second half, and were made to pay for it when Tiarnan McNicholl sent a dipping shot over Jordan Williamson and into the net to level matters at 1-1.
Manager David Jeffrey MBE rung the changes, bringing Jordan Gibson on to replace George Tipton, then Paul McElroy for David Parkhouse.
It was in the 82nd minute that Kenneth Kane smashed the ball into the bottom corner of the net, grabbing his first goal of the season, and secured a spot in the second round.
Ballymena United are on the road again on Saturday, when they face Newry City in the Danske Bank Premiership, kicking off at 5:30pm.

The Spirit Of '89 Supporters Club bus will be leaving the Smithfield Arms car park at 3:45pm - if you want to book a spot, please get in contact on 078 4916 2945.
Match Report by Paul Irwin
Ballymena United Team:
Jordan Williamson, Kym Nelson, Ross Redman, Caolan Loughran, David McDaid, Joshua Kelly, Ryan Waide, Kenneth Kane, David Parkhouse ( Paul McElroy 71), George Tipton ( Jordan Gibson 66), Michael Place.

Subs not used: Sean O'Neill, Scot Whiteside, Jack Henderson, Jake Corbett, Sean Graham.

Click here to view article on desktop site