Home News Fixtures Tables Book Tickets Squad Commercial Info History Shop Under 20s
To Be Confirmed

Danske Bank Premiership fixtures announced

Uploaded Saturday, 16th Apr, 2022 at 17:06

Date: Saturday, 16th April, 2022; Competition: Danske Bank Premiership; Attendance: 924;
Ballymena United [0] [2]
Portadown [1] [1]
Venue: Ballymena Showgrounds; Kick-Off: 15:00;
Referee: Ian McNabb; Assistant 1: Paul Robinson; Assistant 2: Andrew Nethery; 4th Official: Diarmuid Harrigan;
[0-1] STEDMAN, Billy (37 mins), [1-1] McELROY, Paul (pen 48 mins), [2-1] McCULLOUGH, Steven (81 mins)

BALLYMENA United kept their hunt for a seventh place finish up with a battling win over Portadown at the Showgrounds on Saturday afternoon.
Most of the game was attacking play from the Sky Blues, with chances for Steven McCullough and Ryan Waide going begging before the visitors took the lead with a Billy Stedman header in the 37th minute.
It was nearly two in the depths of first half injury time when Portadown midfielder George Tipton, Jordan Williamson pulling a fine save out of the bag to deny his curling effort.
It took just 2 minutes for United to draw level in the second half, a foul on the edge of the area leading to a penalty which Paul McElroy fired into the top corner of the net.
Brendan Barr had an excellent chance to put the home side ahead on 65 minutes, but Portadown keeper Jethren Barr easily saved.
The game was settled when Steven McCullough scored a cracking goal from a free-kick to put the Braidmen ahead, and despite some pressure from Portadown, the game was to end at 2-1 to United.
Ballymena United host basement side Warrenpoint Town on Tuesday evening in the Danske Bank Premiership, kicking off at 7:45pm.
Match Report by Paul Irwin
Ballymena United Team:
Jordan Williamson, Ross Redman, Joshua Kelly ( 28), Paul McElroy ( Kenneth Kane 85), Ryan Waide, Steven McCullough ( 19), Jack Henderson ( 42 Michael Place 69), Brendan Barr, Andrew McGrory, Conor Keeley ( Caolan Loughran 85), Kym Nelson.

Subs not used: Samuel Johnston, Sean Graham, Malachy Smith, Jordan McMullan.